Vladimir Ussachevsky
(Copyright © 2003 Piero Scaruffi | Legal restrictions - Termini d'uso )

Three Scenes from The Creation; Missa Brevis (CRI)
Sonic Contours; Composition; Underwater Waltz (Folkaways)

Vladimir Ussachevsky (Russia, 1911), who emigrated to the USA in 1930, was one of the pioneers of "tape music", created the first electronic music in 1951 with his teacher Otto Luening. In may 1952 Ussachevsky held the first ever concert of electronic music, featuring his compositions Transposition, Reverberation, Experiment, Composition, and Underwater Valse. In october 1952, a live concert of electronic music by Luening and Ussachevsky at New York's Museum Of Modern Art was broadcasted live, and caused a sensation. It included Ussachevsky's Sonic Contours (1952), that electronically modifies the sound of a piano. Other legendary works that Ussachevsky composed in this period were A Poem In Cycles And Bells (1954) for tape and orchestra (one of the earliest electro-acoustic pieces), which was based on Otto Luening's Fantasy In Space (1952) and his own A Poem In Cycles And Bells, and Piece for Tape Recorder (1956) for tape. In 1959, Luening and Ussachevsky founded the Columbia-Princeton Electronic Music Center (CPEMC), the first studio for electronic music in the USA, which featured the synthesizer "Mark II". Creation Prologue (1961), Conflict (1971) and Creation Epilogue (1971), three parts of the multi-movement large-scale Creation, were scored for choirs and electronics, but his choral music was rather inferior. On the other hand, Conflict was his main composition of the 1970s. (Translation by/ Tradotto da xxx)

Se sei interessato a tradurre questo testo, contattami

(Copyright © 2003 Piero Scaruffi | Legal restrictions - Termini d'uso )
What is unique about this music database