Bruce Beresford

5.0 The Adventures of Barry McKenzie (1972)
4.0 Barry McKenzie Holds His Own (1974)
4.0 Side by Side (1975)
5.0 Don's Party (1976)
4.5 The Getting of Wisdom (1977)
4.0 Money Movers (1978)
6.4 Breaker Morant (1980)
5.0 The Club (1980)
5.0 Puberty Blues (1981)
6.0 Tender Mercies (1983)
4.0 King David (1985)
5.0 The Fringe Dwellers (1986)
6.0 Crimes of the Heart (1986)
4.0 Her Alibi (1989)
6.6 Driving Miss Daisy (1989)
5.0 Mister Johnson (1990)
4.5 Black Robe (1991)
4.5 Rich in Love (1992)
4.5 A Good Man in Africa (1994)
6.0 Silent Fall (1994)
5.5 Last Dance (1996)
5.0 Paradise Road (1997)
5.5 Double Jeopardy (1999)
5.0 Bride of the Wind (2001)
5.0 Evelyn (2002)
And Starring Pancho Villa as Himself (2003)
The Contract (2006)
5.0 Mao's Last Dancer (2009)
Peace, Love & Misunderstanding (2011)
Mr Church (2016)
Ladies in Black (2018)

After working in Nigeria and having made commercials in England, Bruce Beresford (Australia, 1940) debuted in Australia with the satirical farces The Adventures of Barry McKenzie (1972), Barry McKenzie Holds His Own (1974) and Side by Side (1975).

Don's Party (1976), an adaptation of David Williamson's play "Don's Party" (1976), marked a radical turn because it was devoted to a socio-sexual analysis of a group of people on the eve of political elections.

The Getting of Wisdom (1977), an adaptation of Henry Handel Richardson's novel "The Getting of Wisdom" (1910), is the biopic of a writer but contains an attack against male chauvinism.

After the awful thriller Money Movers (1978), he made the anti-war drama Breaker Morant (1980), an adaptation of Kenneth Ross's 1978 play which is based on a true story, a sort of Australian Paths of Glory, chronicle of a military scandal during the Boer War.

The Club (1980) is another adaptation of a David Williamson play.

Puberty Blues (1981), an adaptation of Kathy Lette's and Gabrielle Carey's novel of 1979, follows the coming of age of two girls.

After relocating to the USA, he directed a tender love story, Tender Mercies (1982).

After the Biblical epic King David (1985) and The Fringe Dwellers (1986), an adaptation of Nene Gare's novel "The Fringe Dwellers" (1961), set in an aboriginal slum and centered around an independent heroine who moves to the city, he directed Crimes of the Heart (1986), a diligent adaptation of Beth Henley's play "Crimes of the Heart" (1979), a grotesque southern gothic feuilleton about three eccentric sisters (Keaton, a frustrated spinster, Lange a singer with a turbulent sex life, Spacek married to a rich man whom she cheated on and killed) who were orphaned after their mother's suicide and meet at the bedside of their dying granpa.

After the romantic comedy Her Alibi (1989) he directed Driving Miss Daisy (1989), perhaps his best theatrical adaptation, from Alfred Uhry's play (1987), Mister Johnson (1990), an adaptation of Joyce Cary's novel of 1939, Black Robe (1991), an adaptation of Brian Moore's 1985 novel, Rich in Love (1992), an adaptation of Josephine Humphreys' novel "Rich in Love" (1987), A Good Man in Africa (1994), an adaptation of William Boyd's 1981 novel, and finally an interesting movie, the psychological thriller Silent Fall (1994), followed by another thriller, Last Dance (1996). After the war movie Paradise Road (1997), he returned to the thriller with Double Jeopardy (1999). He ended his career with the dramas Bride of the Wind (2001) and Evelyn (2002), the western And Starring Pancho Villa as Himself (2003), the thriller The Contract (2006), the biopic Mao's Last Dancer (2009), the comedy Peace, Love & Misunderstanding (2011) Mr Church (2016) and Ladies in Black (2018).

(Copyright © 2022 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )