Yash Chopra

7.0 Deewaar (1975)
6.5 Waqt/ Time (1965)
6.5 Veer-Zaara (2004)

Hindi director Yash Chopra (India, 1932), younger brother of Baldev Raj Chopra, debuted with the social melodramas Dhool Ka Phool (1959) and Dharmputra (1961), and rose to prominence with the blockbuster Waqt/ Time (1965), written by Akhtar Mirza, starring actress Sadhana and actor Sunil Dutt, with hit songs composed by Ravi Shankar Sharma, Kabhi Kabhie (1976), written by Sagar Sarhadi, and Trishul (1978), written by Salim-Javed.

Daag (1973), instead, an adaptation of Thomas Hardy's novel "The Mayor of Casterbridge" (1886), was simply a vehicle for actor Rajesh Khanna, and also featured the acting debut of future screenwriter Kader Khan.

He struck gold again with the three-hour thriller Deewaar/ The Wall (1975), scripted by Salim Khan and Javed Akhtar. After Kabhi Kabhie (1976), Trishul (1978), Kaala Patthar (1979) and Silsila (1981), Chopra directed two musicals for Sridevi (born Shree Amma Yanger Ayyappan): Chandni (1989), another three-hour movie, and Lamhe (1991), even longer than three hours.

Chopra then directed Shahrukh Khan in Darr (1993), Dil To Pagal Hai (1997), which also featured rising female star Madhuri Dixit, Veer-Zaara (2004), which was another peak of his career, and Jab Tak Hai Jaan (2012).

(Copyright © 2022 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )