P Padmarajan

6.8 Thoovanathumbikal (1987)
6.7 Aparan/ Imposter (1988)
6.5 Moonnam Pakkam (1988)

Malayalam director P Padmarajan (India, 1945), born Padmarajan Padmanabhan Pillai, who had already published a novel and written Bharathan's early films as well as Kulakkattil Geevarghese George's Rappadikalude Gatha/ The Journey of the Nightingales (1978), directed Peruvazhiyambalam/ The Halfway House (1979) and became a prolific Malayalam director of the 1980s. For example, in 1986 he directed four films (Namukku Parkkan Munthiri Thoppukal, Arappatta Kettiya Gramathil, Kariyilakkattu Pole, Thinkalaazhcha Nalla Divasam) and scripted two more.

His best perhaps came at the end of the decade: Thoovanathumbikal (1987), Aparan/ Imposter (1988) and Moonnam Pakkam (1988).

His last films were Season (1989), Innale/ Yesterday (1990), and Njan Gandharvan/ I am Gandharva (1991).

He also wrote at least 14 novels and dozens of short stories. P Padmarajan died in 1991.

(Copyright © 2022 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )