Joey Baron
(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
Krentz Ratings:
Tongue in Groove (1991), 7/10
Raised Pleasure Dot (1993), 7/10
Crackshot (1995), 6/10
Down Home (1997), 6/10
We'll Soon Find Out (2000), 5.5/10
Dinosaur Dances (2003), 5.5/10
Just Listen (2008), 5/10
Now You Hear Me (2016), 6.5/10

Jewish drummer Joey Baron (1955), who played with Bill Frisell (1988), Tim Berne (1989) and John Zorn (1989), debuted as a leader on Tongue in Groove (may 1991) and Raised Pleasure Dot (february 1993), both in a bizarre trio (Barondown) with trombonist Steve Swell and tenor saxophonist Ellery Eskelin performing sets of brief unpredictable sketches. Having proven how little he cared for the conventions of rhythm, Baron proceeded to form Down Home, a much more orthodox quartet with alto saxophonist Arthur Blythe, guitarist Bill Frisell and bassist Ron Carter whose Down Home (april 1997) featured longer pieces such as Little Boy, Wide Load and What that straddled the border between free jazz and rhythm'n'blues. In the meantime, Barondown also changed format, delivering two lengthy and convoluted skits, Games On A Train and Sittin' On A Cornflake on Crackshot (august 1995). Down Home, instead, crafted We'll Soon Find Out (april 2000), in an even more conventional vein (either a postmodernist take on bebop or a melodic detour).

Just Listen (november 2008) documents live duets between Joey Baron on drums and Bill Frisell on guitar.

Baron also played in a trio with John Medeski and Marc Ribot.

Baron also formed Killer Joey, first documented on Killer Joey (july 2000), featuring guitarists Steve Cardenas and Brad Shepik as well as Tony Scherr on bass.

Dinosaur Dances (march 2003) and especially Now You Hear Me (march 2016), with the 32-minute Passage. were collaborations with fellow percussionist Robyn Schulkowsky.

(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
What is unique about this music database