(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
Krentz Ratings:
Staring at the Sun (2000), 6.5/10
Syntaxis (2002), 6.5/10
Tandem (2002), 5/10
III (2005), 6/10
Eyes in the Back of My Head (2006), 6.5/10
Fingerprint (2008), 5/10
Two Faces of Janus (2009), 5/10
Cerberus Rising (2009), 5.5/10
Cerberus Reigning (2010), 5.5/10
Cerulean Landscape (2010), 5/10

Cosmologic, a quartet from San Diego comprising Jason Robinson on tenor saxophone, Michael Dessen on trombone, Scott Walton on bass and Nathan Hubbard on drums, coined a personal and robust form of free-jazz on Staring at the Sun (february 2000 - Circumvention, 2000), highlighted by Dessen's Nomad Land and Robinson's C.T. and Hell in Hat Yai and Hubbard's Shrouded Over With Fog and Staring at the Sun, and Syntaxis (march 2002 - Circumvention, 2002), dominated by two lengthy Dessen compositions, Mr Hubbard's Shock Installation and Artichoke Clock.

III (Circumvention, 2005) emphasized rock and dance elements and achieved a bold and fiery sense of unity, notably in Robinson's Shadows at Night.

The elegant Eyes in the Back of my Head (december 2006 - Cuneiform, 2008) contains Hubbard's Eyes in the Back of my Head, a study on making an exuberant theme decay into a mournful theme, Robinson's oscillating eerie prelude to Dreams of an Alternate Future - Remembering the Past, Hubbard's calmly chaotic Face in the Crowd, Dessen's deconstructed romantic serenade Code View (that turns clownish in the second half), Hubbard's harsh and erratic We Kiss in a Shadow on the Other Side of This.

Jason Robinson's Tandem (2002) featured pianist Anthony Davis, trombonist George Lewis and bassist Peter Kowald. Jason Robinson assembled a sextet (saxophonists Marty Ehrlich and Rudresh Mahanthappa, guitarist Liberty Ellman, bassist Drew Gress and drummer George Schuller) to record his The Two Faces Of Janus (december 2009). Fingerprint (2008) documented a ten-piece ensemble with Anthony Davis, Kamau Kenyatta (piano and sax), Rob Thorsen (bass), Nathan Hubbard (drums), Michael Dessen (trombone), Ellen Weller, Adnan Marquez-Borbon and Andrew Geib (on flutes), Gabriel Sundy (bass clarinet). Cerberus Rising (2009) and Cerberus Reigning (2010) were parts of a trilogy of solo releases with Robinson on electronics, computer, saxophones and flute. Cerulean Landscape (2010) was a collaboration with pianist Anthony Davis.

(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
What is unique about this music database