Salvatore Martirano

(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )

, /10

Salvatore Martirano (1927), a New York-based inventor of electronic instruments who had studied with Dalla Piccola in Italy in the early 1950s, penned the cacophonous L'GA for Gassed-Masked Politico, Helium Bomb and Two Channel Tape (1967) at the University of Illinois at Urbana, where he was teaching composition since 1963, and later built the Sal-Mar Construction, one of the earliest music composition/synthesis machines (of which three hours of recordings are available, made in 1971-75).

He had also composed: a string quartet (1951); the chamber opera The Magic Stones (1951); a Mass A Cappella (1955); O O O O That Shakespeherian Rag (1958) for choir and chamber ensemble; an Octet (1963) for flute, bass clarinet, contra-alto clarinet, marimba, celesta, violin, cello and contra-bass; electronic music like Buffet (1965) and The Malmstadt-Enke Blues (1967); the electroacoustic Underworld (1965), scored for 4 actors, 4 percussion, 2 string basses, tenor sax and tape; and a Ballad for Amplified Nite-Club Singer and Instrumental Ensemble (1966).

Later compositions include: In Memoriam Luigi Dallapiccola (1978) for tape recorder; Thrown (1984) for winds and percussion; Phleu For Amplified Flute And Synthetic Orchestra (1988); Lon/Dons For Chamber Orchestra (1989); and pieces for another invention, the Yahasalmamac, such as Three Not Two (1987) and Four Not Two (1988).

(Translation by/ Tradotto da xxx)

Se sei interessato a tradurre questo testo, contattami

(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
What is unique about this music database