(Copyright © 2003 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )

Red Shift Swing (1999), 7/10
Duck-Rabbit (2001), 6.5/10
Miniatures (2004), 6/10
Oak Or Rock (2005), 6/10
Amateur (2007), 6/10
Unemployed (2011), 6/10

Alog is the Norwegian duo of Espen Sommer Eide and Dag-Are Haugan. Red Shift Swing (Rune Grammofon, 1999) is a set of chamber lieder for acoustic ensemble, homemade instruments, found sounds and electronics. The textures are liquid, unstable, organic, and largely improvised.

Duck-Rabbit (Rune Grammofon, 2001) further refined Alog's electroacoustic pop muzak, although it lost a bit of the debut's gentle emotional drift.

Miniatures (Rune Grammofon, 2004) is a diligent retelling of their aesthetics with no particular insight into how it could evolve. The eerie collage of Building Instruments is the most progressive of this mostly retrospective compositions (and mostly harking back to Steve Reich). Their mini-minimalist sonatas are charming but hardly invigorating.

The psycho-ambient Phonophani (1998) debuted a new project by Espen Sommer Eide, continued on Oak Or Rock (Rune, 2004).

Catch That Totem (2006) collects other people's music remixed/revisited by Alog.

There is little that is new or unique about Amateur (2007), basically a less electronic version of Miniatures with rare bursts of emotion (Son Of Kind and The Beginner).

Unemployed (2011) contains one of their most ambitious pieces, the 17-minute Last Day at the Assembly Line, and a vocal piece, Bomlo Bren Om Natta, sung by Dutch virtuoso vocalist Jaap Blonk.

(Translation by/ Tradotto da xxx)

Se sei interessato a tradurre questo testo, contattami

(Copyright © 2003 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
What is unique about this music database