Church Of Misery

(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Legal restrictions - Termini d'uso )

Master Of Brutality (2001) , 6.5/10
The Second Coming (2004), 5/10
Houses Of The Unholy (2009), 6/10

Japan's Church Of Misery, formed by bassist Tatsu Mikami, guitarist Tomohiro Nishimura and vocalist Kazuhiro Asaeda, soon replaced by Nobukazu Chow, were stoner-rockers who already debuted in the late 1990s with the Eps Born Too Late (Game Two, 1998), containing Spahn Ranch, Road To Ruin, Reverend and Room 213, and Taste The Pain (Bad Acid, 1998), containing Taste The Pain and Plainfield, and with the singles Murder Company/ Son Of A Gun (1999) and We've Learned Nothing/ Church Of Misery (1999). Early Works Compilation (Leaf Hound, 2004) compiles most of these. Most of their pieces were dedicated to serial killers and the likes.

Yoshiaki Negishi was the new vocalist on Master Of Brutality (2001), that included the classics Killfornia, Ripping Into Pieces, Megalomania and Master Of Brutality.

Then Tomohiro Nishimura also left. The guitarist was Takenori Hoshi on The Second Coming (2004), that had shorter songs (still dedicated to serial killers).

The band was fronted by synth-man and vocalist Hideki Fukasawa on Houses Of The Unholy (2009), a title that echoes Led Zeppelin's album of the 1970s. Indeed the nine-minute El Padrino sounds like a Led Zeppelin tribute. The noisy synth colors the melodramatic and cinematic mutations of the Blood Sucking Freak, the emotional centerpiece of the album. Best of the psychodramas is Badlands, an agonizing abrasive bluesy eight-minute slab of demonic abjection. The frenzy of the brief Shotgun Boogie marks perhaps the musical zenith of the album.

(Translation by/ Tradotto da xxx)

Se sei interessato a tradurre questo testo, contattami

(Copyright © 2006 Piero Scaruffi | Legal restrictions - Termini d'uso )
What is unique about this music database