Jeff Rosenstock

(Copyright © 2012 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of Use )

, /10

New York's singer-songwriter Jeff Rosenstock fronted the ska-punk sextet Arrogant Sons of Bitches that released Built to Fail (1998), Pornocracy (2000), Three Cheers For Disappointment (2006) and several EPs. Several members of the Arrogant Sons of Bitches went on to form Bomb the Music Industry that released Album Minus Band (2005), To Leave or Die in Long Island (2005), Goodbye Cool World (2006), Get Warmer (2007), Scrambles (2009), Adults!!!: Smart!!! Shithammered!!! And Excited by Nothing!!!!!!! (2010) and Vacation (2011).

Meanwhile, Rosenstock formed the trio Kudrow that released Lando (2009) and also played in Pegasuses-XL, a keyboards-driven project that released The Antiphon (2008) and Electro Agitators (Ernest Jenning, 2009).

Jeff Rosenstock started a solo career with the albums I Look Like Shit (Really, 2012) and We Cool (SideOneDummy, 2015). Worry (SideOneDummy, 2016) was much hyped but it's still mediocre. There are echoes of Elvis Costello (the catchy Festival Song), of the Beatles (To Be A Ghost) and one cute musichall skit (I Did Something Weird Last Night), but it's all disposable. The album wakes up in the second half, which, thankfully, includes brief punk explosions: the old-fashioned punk-rocker Bang On The Door, the ska-punk singalong Rainbow, and the anthemic closer, Perfect Sound Whatever. Too little, too late.

In 2014 he also joined Mike Park's Bruce Lee Band for the EP Community Support Group (2014) and the album Everything Will Be Alright, My Friend (2014)

Rosenstock formed Antarctigo Vespucci with Chris Farren and they released Leavin' La Vida Loca (2015).

(Copyright © 2016 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )
(Translation by/ Tradotto da xxx)

Se sei interessato a tradurre questo testo, contattami