(Copyright © 2023 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of Use )
Sirom I (2016), 6/10
I Can Be A Clay Snapper (2017), 5/10
A Universe That Roasts Blossoms For A Horse (2019), 6.5/10
The Liquified Throne of Simplicity (2022), 6/10

Slovenian trio Sirom (Iztok Koren, Ana Kravanja, Samo Kutin) merged post-rock, free-jazz, raga-rock and folk-rock into one original style of improvised jams for acoustic and handmade instruments. Sirom I (2016) contains the 15-minute Svetlobni Prelaz Cez Vrnitev, which starts out with a shocking pandemonium but then unveils a plaintive melody and spends most of the time in a delicate interplay of instruments that feels ancient but is clearly modern, spawned by free jazz and psychedelic rock; the soothing and subdued 18-minute Trilogija, which opens with a sort of saltarello and settles into hypnotic strumming with a restless violin and ends in a percussive finale; and Mehki Koraki Rjovenja, mostly a percussive jam that begins as a gamelan and morphs into a robotic dance.

Parts of I Can Be A Clay Snapper (2017) are admittedly aimless, like Just About Awake, but the 12-minute Boats Biding Beware is held together by humming and a sense of journeying (until it collapses halfway into funny percussion and funny noises). and the eleven-minute Maestro Kneading Screams Of Joy is a charming jig that becomes a pastoral elegy.

After a brief overture (a sort of gypsy lament), Svet Ki Spece Konju Cvet/ A Universe That Roasts Blossoms For A Horse (2019) has only four pieces. Prekaljen V Dlan Prime Kljuc/ Sleight Of Hand With A Melting Key (15:17) follows their well-tested blueprint: a festive folk dance turns into a lengthy free-form improvisation, but this is one of their most fluid and cohesive ones. Utrip Izloca Svoje Brate In Sestre/ A Pulse Expels Its Brothers and Sisters (9:26) is a bit unfocused (first a syncopated frenzy, then a cello-driven melodic fantasia), but Enako Kot Katere Se Je Komaj Spomnila/ Same As The One She Hardly Remembered (8:29) well epitomizes a new, austere tone, worthy of classical chamber music, that leaves behind both the orgiastic and the "spaced-out" tones of earlier recordings. There's unusually lot of singing in Brez Velike Verjetnosti Objema/ Low Probability Of A Hug (7:50).

The sprawling Utekocinjeni Prestol Preprostih/ The Liquified Throne of Simplicity (2022) mantains the format of four lengthy pieces and a short one but basically doubles the duration of the pieces. The 20-minute Pari Se Ovenelo Praznoverje/ Wilted Superstition Engaged In Copulation makes the best of its duration: free-jazz with Afro-Caribbean percussion and with a home-made flute replacing the saxophone, or imagine Don Cherry jamming with Nana Vasconcelos, or Jon Hassell playing with an Amazon tribe. The slow, steady progression of the 18-minute Modrikasto Kresnicenje/ A Bluish Flickering from sparse soundscape to dense, intricate, buzzing cacophony is an effective way to induce trance. The 16-minute Pase, Zguba, Pada V Spanec/ Grazes, Wrinkles, Drifts Into Sleep, instead, is too repetitive/static at the beginning and then simply indulges in booming drones, and the parts of the 19-minute Seže S Kostjo V Ogenj Se Prevrne S Kaco/ Prods The Fire With A Bone, Rolls Over With A Snake feel unbalanced.

(Copyright © 2023 Piero Scaruffi | Terms of use )